Posted by: commapen | January 2, 2011

Vacation’s All I Ever Wanted

Out in the woods

“All you ever want to do is escape!”

This is one of the things Dassy says to me when my mind wanders away from the “here and now”. I do admit that roaming around this planet is one of the favorite things that I like to do. Like many kids, once I figured out that there was a world outside my house, I wanted to go out and explore it. I learned the things necessary to go out; learn to walk, learn to tie my shoes, bring my jacket. On a family outing to Seaside, Oregon, I heard sea lions and wandered out on my own to find them. Without bothering to tell my parents. I didn’t even bother to bring money with me for the admission. They found me just before they decided to get the cops involved in the search.

One of my first vacation memories was when my family got in our truck and drove to Disneyland. We had all the sorts of experiences that tend to stick with a kid; the sunshine, the palm trees, the amusement park rides, Mickey and Donald, fresh oranges, Mom’s sunburn in San Francisco, spitting outside the back of the truck in Mount Shasta City. From then on I would dream about all sorts of trips. I would gather timetables from travel agencies and the airport and plan out imaginary trips to anywhere. To avoid interaction with other kids, I would go to the school library, read, look at maps, and dream.

As soon as I got a job and a good amount of vacation time, off I went. New Orleans, D.C., Miami, Los Angeles, Pittsburgh, Milwaukee, Calgary, Montreal, Quebec City, you name it. In 1995, I went to Hong Kong and Singapore, in 2001 it was Jamaica. Most of these trips were done on my own, with limited human interaction. I wonder what sort of different opportunities I would have had if I was more sociable. I suppose that events happen the way that they are supposed to. My first trip to Philippines in 2005 was my “moment”, when it all started to come together. Now I am a bit more reluctant to waste any more time. I want 2011 to be the best year ever, for my health, my creativity, my relationships.

Did you get the “travel bug” when you were young? Do you use travel to avoid interacting with other people, or do you use it specifically to meet other humans? I would love to hear from you.

Responses

  1. …I remember mom’s sunburn in San Fran, and because of this and other factors (on vacation!) being able to stay up and watch Saturday Night Live. This was back in the classic original years and I remember thinking that this was about the funniest thing I had ever seen. I think in some ways it had something to do with the ‘unique’ sense of humor I have now.

  2. A good post about a deep-rooted wanderlust 🙂

  3. Hi there, nice to meet you. Wish you all the best for your upcoming trip. I would personally like to see a bit more color in your blog.

  4. Always interesting to hear how people “caught” the travel bug. We didn’t travel much when I was a kid, but I always wanted to and 2 weeks after finishing university started, by moving to S. Korea.

  5. To be honest, I didn’t really get into travel until my late 20s but when I did, it was with a vengeance!

  6. Hi, we’re 18 and we’re heading off on a round the world trip in Feb so i would say we have caught the travel bug young! As well as seeing loads of great places meeting new people is pretty high up the excitement list!


Leave a Reply

Categories

