Posted by: commapen | December 7, 2008

My school years

The trick about writing a personal blog is that is should contain information about the small moments of your life, as well as the big ones. People have much more small moments than big moments, and sometimes looking at those small moments can reflect on how those big moments took place. Here is some background on who I am.

My name is Steve Cavcey, I am “thirty-twelve” years old, and I live in Auburn, WA with my wife Dassy (27 years old). I was born in Seattle, WA in 1966 and spent the first 12 years of my life in West Seattle. I have always been the quiet type, so much so that I ended up in a special school on the UW campus for my first three years of schooling. I transferred to Sanislo Elementary School in 1974, “open concept” but otherwise in the regular Seattle Schools system. My parents, my brother and I moved to Arlington, WA in 1978 and graduated from Arlington High School in 1984. I played trumpet in the marching band, was on the Hi-Q quiz team, and (for the most part) kept to myself.

I went to Skagit Valley College from 1984 to 1986, getting an AA in communications and spinning records on KSVR radio. I remember the commute from my parents house to Mount Vernon in an AMC Pacer (a darker shade of blue, without flame decals). One day my car spun off the road while going home. No damage or injuries, but it did scare the poop out of me that day.

I spent 1986 to 1988 getting a BA in communications from The Evergreen State College in Olympia, perhaps being one of the few people on campus not to “experiment” in “illegal” substances. I had two more years of playing radio, this time on KAOS early Sunday morning from 4 to 7 AM. Obvious I had to quiet down the music during the last 2 hours of the program. I remember seeing Screaming Trees at a Halloween show junior year, and consuming mass amounts of coffee and Top Ramen. I did manage to graduate, which still surprises the heck out of me.

From 1988 to the end of the decade, I worked mini-mart jobs and stayed at my parents place. I applied for a job with the Social Security Administration in Auburn at my mom’s urging. When I found out I got the job in December of 1989, I was surprised how fast the conversation was suddenly about me getting my own apartment 🙂 There is a lot to write about the next decade and a half, which I will include in my next post. As I said, content is important…

Leave a Reply

Categories

